You are here

Shabab Urdun win JFA Shield title

By Aline Bannayan - Sep 17,2016 - Last updated at Sep 17,2016

AMMAN — Shabab Urdun won the second event of the 2016/17 football calendar, scoring a major 5-1 win over Faisali to win the Jordan Football Association (JFA) Shield .

Shabab Urdun led 2-1 at half-time, and a penalty in the 54th minute ended Faisali’s hopes of equalising as the veteran team fell hard in an unexpected defeat.

It was Shabab Urdun’s second shield title after they first won in 2007. The team, which has had inconsistent seasons in the past few years, had beaten Sahab 1-0 while Faisali eliminated Wihdat by the same score to advance to the final where the winner received JD15,000 and the runner-up JD10,000.

In Round 1, Shabab Urdun led Group B followed by Wihdat while Faisali led Group A followed by Sahab. Super Cup champs Ahli, as well as Ramtha, Jazira and Baqa’a all had a shot at advancing to the knockout Round 2, but were eliminated while Manshieh and That Ras were knocked out earlier.

Last season’s top overall team, Ahli, won the first event of the 2016/17 football season when they beat reigning league champs Wihdat 2-1 to win the 34th Super Cup. Teams will now head to break as Jordan hosts the U-17 Women’s World Cup. Following that, the professional league will kick-off on October 22 while the Jordan Cup preliminary round will kick-off October 31.


Last season, Wihdat won their third consecutive and 15th league title since they moved up to the professional league in 1975. Faisali beat league and Super Cup holders Wihdat 1-0 to clinch the Super Cup while it was Ahli, who after years in the backstage, beat Shabab Urdun to win their first Jordan Cup final. 

JFA Shield record

(Runner-up in parenthesis)

1981 - Jazira (Wihdat)

1982 - Wihdat (Amman)

1983 - Wihdat (Ramtha)

1984 - Amman (Hussein)

1985 - Amman (Faisali

1986 - Jazira (Faisali)

1987 - Faisali (Wihdat)

1988 - Wihdat (Hussein)

1989 - Ramtha (Wihdat)

1990 - Ramtha (Hussein)

1991 - Faisali (Wihdat)

1992 - Faisali (Hussein)

1993 - Ramtha (Qadissieh)

1994 - Hussein (Faisali) 

1995 - Wihdat (Jalil)

1996 - Ramtha (Hussein)




1997 - Faisali (Wihdat)

1998 - Kufrsoum (Hussein)

1999 - not held

2000 - Faisali (Shabab Al Hussein)

2001 - Ramtha (Baqa’a)

2002 - Wihdat (Faisali)

2003 - Hussein (Shabab Al Hussein)

2004 - Wihdat (Hussein)

2005 - Hussein (Faisali)

2006 - Yarmouk (Wihdat)

2007 - Shabab al Urdun (Jazira)

2008 -Wihdat (Baqa’a)

2009 - Faisali (Arabi)

2010 -Wihdat (Jazira)

2011 - Faisali (Shabab Urdun)

2012-2015 —Not held


2016 - Shabab Urdun (Faisali)

188 users have voted.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
3 + 15 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.


Get top stories and blog posts emailed to you each day.