AMMAN –– A Royal decree was issued on Wednesday approving a reshuffle to the Cabinet of Prime Minister Abdullah Ensour.

This is the first reshuffle to Ensour’s second Cabinet which was appointed in March this year.

The reshuffle saw five ministers leave their posts and 13 new ministers join the team, raising the number of Cabinet members to 27, including the premier, who traditionally holds the defence portfolio.

The ministers who left their posts are Mohammad Wahsh of the Ministry of Education, Mohammad Qudah (awqaf and Islamic affairs), Mujalli Mhailanm (health), Malek Kabariti (energy and mineral resources) and Barakat Awajan (culture).

The reshuffle brought 10 first-time ministers and three who have served in previous governments.

The first timers are: Mohammad Hamed as Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources, Sami Halaseh as Minister of Public Works and Housing, Bassam Talhouni as Minister of Justice, Ali Hiasat as Minister of Health, Salameh Neimat as Minister of State, Hayel Daoud as Minister of Awqaf and Islamic Affairs, Khaled Kalaldeh as Minister for Political and Parliamentary Affairs, Lana Mamkegh as Minister of Culture, Lina Shabib as Minister of Transport and Azzam Sleit and Minster Information and Communications Technology.

The other new members in Ensour’s government are Mohammad Thneibat who was appointed as Minister of Education, Akef Zubi as Minister of Agriculture and Taher Shakhshir as Minister of Environment.