You are here

‘All set’ for 21st Dead Sea Ultra Marathon on Friday

By Roufan Nahhas - Apr 03,2014 - Last updated at Apr 03,2014

AMMAN — The 21st annual run of the International Dead Sea Ultra Marathon kicks off on Friday with the participation of more than 7,000 runners representing various countries around the world.

The event is held under the patronage of HRH Prince Firas and organised by Run Jordan, the sole entity dedicated to bringing together different marathon events and races under one umbrella.

According to Lina Kurd, Run Jordan vice director, all preparations for the marathon have been completed.

"The 50km marathon will start from 1st traffic light after the 8th Circle [in Amman] towards the airport road, while the 21km run will start 3km after the zero point towards Amman Tourist Beach at the Dead Sea and the 10km run will start 2km after Baptism Site at the Dead Sea," she said. 

Meanwhile, the 10km race for people with visual and physical disabilities will start 2km after the Baptism Site at the Dead Sea.

"We are really happy to organise such an event that everyone, especially families, can enjoy and learn about the benefits of sports in leading a healthy life," Kurd told The Jordan Times.

"For many years the marathon was linked with charity work especially with the Society for Care of Neurological Patients and we are proud to be part of this drive," she added.

First place winner will receive a $2,000 cash award for the 50km, while second place will receive $1,500 and third place $1,000, according to Kurd. 

The first place winner of the 21km race will receive $1,000, while $500 will go to the second place winner and $300 for the third place. 

The first winner of the 10km race will receive $500, while the second place winner gets $300 and the third will win $200, she added.

The first three winners of the race for people with disabilities will receive $300, $200 and $100 respectively.

The award ceremony will be held at the Amman Tourist Beach at 11:30am with special activities for all the families and participants.

Last year, Jordanian runners fared well, with Mithqal Abbadi winning the 50km category  after clocking 2h50m57s, followed by Fathi Dayyat with 2h57m09s. Ghrood Dhaimat won the women race with 4h15m22s, followed by Nahed Bawat with 4h44m52s.

93 users have voted.


Get top stories and blog posts emailed to you each day.