You are here

Limited government reshuffle sees two ministers in, portfolio cancelled

Officials take oath of office before His Majesty

By JT - Jan 22,2019 - Last updated at Jan 22,2019

New ministers were sworn in before His Majesty King Abdullah at Al Husseiniya Palace on Tuesday (Photo courtesy of Royal Court)

AMMAN — A Royal Decree was issued on Tuesday approving a reshuffle in Prime Minister Omar Razzaz’s Cabinet.

Walid Maani was appointed as Minister of Education and Minister of Higher Education, Walid Masri as Minister of Municipal Affairs, Majd Shweikeh as Minister of Tourism and Antiquities and Anmar Khasawneh as Minister of Transport, according to a Royal Court statement. 

Shweikeh’s previous portfolio of institutional development was scrapped in the new government make-up, however, Razzaz later in the day decided to delegate the mandate of the portfolio, now under the Prime Ministry’s jurisdiction, to Shweikeh, in addition to her new role as tourism minister.

The decision would also see Shweikeh handling communiqués regarding complaints and services.

The new ministers were sworn in before His Majesty King Abdullah at Al Husseiniya Palace in the presence of Razzaz, Royal Court Chief Yousef Issawi and Adviser to His Majesty and Director of the Office of His Majesty Manar Dabbas.

Earlier in the day, a Royal Decree was issued accepting the resignation of the following ministers as of January 22: Minister of Transport and Minister of Municipal Affairs Walid Masri and Minister of State for Institutional Performance Development Majd Shweikeh.

A Royal Decree was issued on November 4 accepting the resignation of Education Minister Azmi Mahafzah and Tourism Minister Lina Annab, effective November 1.

Another Royal Decree was issued on the same day approving the appointment of Justice Minister Bassam Talhouni and Shweikeh to handle the portfolios of the two outgoing ministries. 

Mahafzah and Annab tendered their resignations over the loss of life in the Dead Sea incident a week earlier, when flashfloods resulted in the death of 21 people, mostly schoolchildren who were on a trip to the area.


Cabinet list

Following is the list of Prime Minister Omar Razzaz Cabinet members after Tuesday’s reshuffle:

Omar Razzaz: Prime Minister and Minister of Defence

Rajai Muasher: Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of State

Ayman Safadi: Minister of Foreign Affairs and Expatriates

Musa Maaytah: Minister of Political and Parliamentary Affairs and Minister of State

Samir Murad: Minister of Labour

Walid Masri: Minister of Municipal Affairs

Muhannad Shehadeh: Minister of State for Investment Affairs

Samir Mubaidin: Minister of Interior

Abdul Nasser Abul Bassal: Minister of Awqaf and Islamic Affairs

Ezzeddine Kanakrieh: Minister of Finance

Mubarak Abu Yamin: Minister of State for Legal Affairs

Tareq Hammouri: Minister of Industry, Trade and Supply

Jumana Ghunaimat: Minister of State for Media Affairs

Hala Zawati: Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources

Mary Kawar: Minister of Planning and International Cooperation

Muthana Gharaibeh: Minister of ICT

Raed Abul Saud: Minister of Water and Irrigation

Bassam Talhouni: Minister of Justice

Majd Shweikeh: Minister of Tourism and Antiquities 

Falah Omoush: Minister of Public Works and Housing

Basma Ishaqat: Minister of Social Development

Ghazi Zaben: Minister of Health

Ibrahim Shahahdeh: Minister of Agriculture and Minister of Environment

Mohammad Abu Rumman: Minister of Culture and Minister of Youth

Walid Maani: Minister of Education and Minister of Higher Education

Anmar Khasawneh: Minister of Transport

92 users have voted.


Get top stories and blog posts emailed to you each day.