You are here

Cabinet reshuffle sees 5 new ministers in, 7 out

By JT - Jan 15,2017 - Last updated at Jan 15,2017

His Majesty King Abdullah with Prime Minister Hani Mulki and the newly appointed ministers on Sunday (Photo courtesy of Royal Court)

AMMAN — A Royal Decree was issued on Sunday approving a reshuffle in Prime Minister Hani Mulki’s government. 

The Royal Decree, upon Mulki’s recommendation, included five new ministers and a new portfolio for a Cabinet member from Mulki’s first government.

The ministers who joined the government are: Mamdouh Abbadi as minister of state for prime ministry affairs, Ghaleb Zu’bi as minister of interior, Ayman Safadi as minister of foreign affairs and expatriates, Omar Razzaz as minister of education and Hadithah Khreisha as minister of youth (see ministers’ profiles).

Bisher Khasawneh, who served as minister of state for foreign affairs in the previous government, was named minister of state for legal affairs.

All the new ministers were sworn in before His Majesty King Abdullah on Sunday except for Khasawneh, who is currently abroad on an official mission.

Also on Sunday, King Abdullah received the outgoing ministers at Raghadan Palace and thanked them for their efforts.

Earlier in the day, a Royal Decree was issued accepting the resignation of the following ministers: Jawad Anani, deputy prime minister for economic affairs and minister of state for investment affairs; Mohammad Thneibat, deputy prime minister for services and education minister; and Nasser Judeh, deputy prime minister and minister of foreign affairs and expatriates.

Moreover, the resignations of Salameh Hammad, minister of interior; Rami Wreikat, minister of youth; Fawaz Irshaidat, minister of state for prime ministry affairs; Yusuf Mansur, minister of state for economic affairs; and Khasawneh, as minister of state for foreign affairs, were also accepted.


Cabinet list

Following is the list of Prime Minister Hani Mulki’s Cabinet members after Sunday’s reshuffle:

Hani Mulki: Prime Minister and Minister of Defence

Mamdouh Abbadi: Minister of State for Prime Ministry Affairs 

Ghaleb Zu'bi: Minister of Interior

Ayman Safadi: Minister of Foreign Affairs and Expatriates

Hazem Nasser: Minister of Water and Irrigation

Adel Tweisi: Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research 

Musa Maaytah: Minister of Political and Parliamentary Affairs and Minister of State 

Nabih Shuqum: Minister of Culture

Imad Fakhoury: Minister of Planning and International Cooperation

Ali Ghezawi: Minister of Labour

Mahmoud Sheyyab: Minister of Health 

Wajih Azaizeh: Minister of Social Development 

Yaseen Khayyat: Minister of Environment 

Walid Masri: Minister of Municipal Affairs 

Ibrahim Saif: Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources

Mohammad Momani: Minister of State for Media Affairs

Sami Halaseh: Minister of Public Works and Housing

Majd Shweikeh: Minister of ICT and Minister of Public Sector Development 

Omar Malhas: Minister of Finance 

Wael Arabiyat: Minister of Awqaf and Islamic Affairs

Lina Annab: Minister of Tourism and Antiquities

Khaled Hneifat: Minister of Agriculture 

Bisher Khasawneh: Minister of State for Legal Affairs

Yarub Qudah: Minister of Industry, Trade and Supply

Awad Mashagbeh: Minister of Justice

Hussein Al Souob: Minister of Transport

Omar Razzaz: Minister of Education


Hadithah Khreisha: Minister of Youth

107 users have voted.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
4 + 1 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.


Get top stories and blog posts emailed to you each day.