You are here

Wihdat play Kuwait’s Qadissieh in AFC Champions League

By Aline Bannayan - Feb 09,2015 - Last updated at Feb 09,2015

AMMAN — Jordan’s Wihdat is all set to face Kuwait’s Qadissieh on Tuesday in the preliminary round of the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Champions League. 

The winner will advance to play Saudi Arabia’s Ahli on February 17
before advancing to play in the group stages.

As Jordan Professional League champs, Wihdat head to the premier Asian competition with high hopes of advancing in the competition. Coach Abdullah Abu Zameh underscored the importance of winning although they had a tough start playing against reigning champs Qadissieh on their home turf.

“Our squad is ready and we have overcome the latest defeat,” Abu Zameh said referring to the unexpected 1-0 loss to Ahli in the League this week — their first defeat of the season. Wihdat also lost 5-2 to the U-23 squad in a friendly as the rest of the line-up was on national duty at the Asian Cup.

Jordanian teams will also compete in the second-tier Asian competition — the AFC Cup. After two-time titleholders and League runner-up Faisali declined, third-placed Jazira were nominated to take part for the first time. In case Jordan League and Cup champs Wihdat advance in the Champions League they will be replaced by the League’s fourth-placed team, That Ras, in the AFC Cup alongside Jazira.

The 2015 AFC Cup will have 41 clubs from across the continent competing in eight groups with the top two from each group going on to the Round of 16.

Jazira coach Issa Turk said his team was readying to play in
Group 2 alongside Palestine’s Wadi Nays and Iraq’s Shurta in group matces kicking off on February 24. “Injuries continue to plague the team, but one positive side is the return of U-23 players to our squad after national team duty,” Turk said.

Last year, That Ras exited the Round of 16 while former AFC Cup champs Shabab Urdun lost in Round 1. Shabab Urdun were also eliminated by Bahrain’s Al Hidd in the preliminary round of the AFC Champions League.

The AFC Cup was won by Syria’s Jeish in its inaugural edition in 2004. Jordan’s Faisali won in 2005 and 2006, and in 2007 Shabab Urdun won their first Asian title.

AFC Cup winners








Kuwait SC



Kuwait SC



Nasaf Qarshi



Ittihad Aleppo



Kuwait SC






Shabab Urdun











140 users have voted.


Get top stories and blog posts emailed to you each day.