You are here

Wihdat, Faisali to contest JFA Shield semifinals

By Aline Bannayan - Sep 07,2016 - Last updated at Sep 07,2016

AMMAN — The second event on the 2016/17 football calendar — the Jordan Football Association (JFA) Shield — is set to conclude this weekend when Faisali play Wihdat and Shabab Urdun take on Sahab.

After Round 1, Shabab Urdun led Group B followed by Wihdat while Faisali led Group A followed by Sahab. Super Cup champs Ahli, as well as Ramtha, Jazira and Baqa’a all had a shot at advancing to the knockout Round 2, but were eliminated with Manshieh and That Ras knocked out earlier.

The top two from each group moved to the semis set for September 8 and 9 with the winners advancing to the final on September 16. The winner will receive JD15,000 and the runner-up JD10,000.

Wihdat had earlier announced they would not play the semifinal match following the brawl that ensued after their match against Ramtha. Several fans were injured after Ramtha fans threw stones from outside the stadium. Others were injured trying to flee the scene and were stopped from going onto the stadium by security.

The 2016/17 football season started with Ahli making history when they beat reigning league champs Wihdat 2-1 to win the 34th Super Cup — the first major competition on the calendar. The Jordan Professional League will kick-off on October 22 while the Jordan Cup preliminary round will kick-off October 31 after the conclusion of the U-17 Women’s World Cup. 

Last season, Wihdat won their third consecutive and 15th league title since they moved up to the professional league in 1975. Faisali beat league and Super Cup titleholders Wihdat 1-0 to clinch the Super Cup while it was Ahli who were the overall better team of the season. After years in the backstage, Ahli beat Shabab Urdun to win their first Jordan Cup final.


The JFA Shield was not played for the past four seasons. Wihdat are a record eight time winners, Faisali seven, Ramtha five, Hussein three, Jazira and Amman twice each, and Shabab Urdun, Kufrsoum and Yarmouk once each. Hussein were finalists seven times. Amman have since scrapped football while Qadissieh were relegated and have since merged with Shabab Urdun.

179 users have voted.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
9 + 10 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.



Get top stories and blog posts emailed to you each day.