You are here

Pro League standings clearer as competition winds down

By Aline Bannayan - Dec 16,2020 - Last updated at Dec 16,2020

AMMAN — Standings remained nearly unchanged as Wihdat seem closer to the title, with rivals Jazira following closely, while at the bottom end Ahli are fighting for their spot in the Jordan Professional League as three teams at least are in the relegation zone.

The 17th week of the Professional League will have vital matches for all as Wihdat beat Ramtha 2-1 to maintain their led ahead of their match against Shabab Urdun.

Jazira who beat Faisali 2-1 will next play veterans Ahli who are having their worst season. The latter beat Sahab 2-0 to improve to 11 points and are 3 points behind Sahab and Aqaba.

Third placed Ramtha will next play Aqaba while Hussein who are fourth after holding Salt 1-1 next play Ma'an while Salt play Sahab as they seek a midway spot.

Faisali who have conceded their title are fifth and next play Sarih who are ninth after holding Aqaba 0-0. Shabab Urdun who held Ma'an 0-0 are now 6th. 

After the Jordan Cup was scrapped from the agenda, the league champ will move on to the preliminary round of the Asian Champions League while the second and third teams, instead of the Jordan Cup champ, will play in the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Cup.

So far this season, Faisali beat Jazira to win their 17th and 37th Jordan Super Cup while Wihdat defeated Ramtha to win their 1oth and the 33rd Jordan Football Association Shield.  Regionally, reigning champs Faisali  had an unimpressive start in the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Cup, while 2022 World Cup and 2023 Asian Cup national team qualifiers have now been postponed to next year. 

Last season, Wihdat beat Jazira to win the 36th Jordan Super Cup while Faisali won their 20th Jordan Cup title, adding it to their record 34th Pro League title, one point ahead of Jazira who had led throughout the competition and settled for runner-up. 

Ahli, who were relegated last decade but came back to win the Jordan Cup in 2015 and played in the AFC,  barely secured their spot as Baqa'a dropped to the First Division after 18 consecutive seasons in the Pro League. They were joined by That Ras, a former AFC Cup participant and 2012 Jordan Cup champ. Ma'an and Sarih were promoted.

Since the league kicked off in 1944 with only Faisali, Urdun, Ahli and Homenetmen competing, Faisali are 34 time record league winners while Wihdat were crowned champs for 16 times since they joined in 1980.

27 users have voted.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
5 + 9 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.


Get top stories and blog posts emailed to you each day.