You are here

Jordan Cup seminfinalists decided

By JT - Dec 22,2015 - Last updated at Dec 22,2015

AMMAN — The Jordan Cup quarters ended late Sunday as four teams eased to the semis, which have not been scheduled yet. Shabab Urdun beat Hussein 3-1, Faisali overcame Kufrsoum 3-0, Ahli ousted Turra 2-0 and Jazira edged That Ras 3-2. In Leg 1 of the Jordan Cup quarters, Hussein tied Shabab Urdun 1-1, Jazira beat That Ras 3-0, Faisali beat Kufrsoum 1-0 and Ahli defeated Turra 3-0.

After the elimination of contenders Wihdat, Ramtha, Baqa’a in the Round of 16, now titleholders Faisali, Ahli, Jazira and Shabab Urdun will vie for the title. Four Division 1 teams — Turra, Bala’ama, Arabi and Sheikh Hussein — had joined the Jordan Professional League teams in the preliminary knockout round, where reigning Jordan Cup champs Faisali ousted Sarih, Ahli upstaged Wihdat, Turra upset Ramtha, Jazira beat Asala, Hussein eliminated Baqa’a 3, That Ras ousted Arabi, Kufrsoum beat Sheikh and Shabab Urdun defeated Bala’ama.

So far this season, Jordan Cup holders Faisali beat league titleholders Wihdat 1-0 to win the 33rd Super Cup. Wihdat have been league champions for the past two consecutive years and only have the league title in contention after also conceding the Super Cup this season.


143 users have voted.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
1 + 0 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.


Get top stories and blog posts emailed to you each day.