You are here

Members of IEC election committees sworn in

By JT - Aug 04,2020 - Last updated at Aug 04,2020

AMMAN — Heads and members of the election committees were sworn in before the Independent Election Commission (IEC) council on Tuesday.

The IEC had earlier said that elections for the 19th Parliament will be held on November 10. The Kingdom is divided into 23 constituencies. 

The IEC is scheduled to announce the names of heads and members of the committees and polling and counting centres on its website, the commission said on its website.  

A Royal Decree was issued last Wednesday directing the concerned agencies to hold parliamentary elections in accordance with the provisions of law.

Also on Tuesday, the IEC announced that accreditation for international agencies to monitor the November elections will be open between August 16 and October 20.

Interested agencies can apply through the commission's website, the IEC said on its website.

The IEC also said that local and foreign journalists interested in covering the elections can apply through its website between August 5 and October 31.

Jordanian journalists have to be a least 18 years old and should present documents proving that they work for a media institution, while foreign journalists have also to be at least 18 years old and work for a media institution that is accredited in the Kingdom. 

More details are available on 


8 users have voted.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
5 + 1 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.


Get top stories and blog posts emailed to you each day.